You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people think that there is too much harmfull content to be found on the internet. These people think the solution for this problem is to increase the amount of control the government has to censor content of websites. I strongly believe that this is not a good solution and can be the cause for more problems.

The first and biggest reason to not give the government increased censoring capabilities in media, is that this could reduce the freedom of speech. What content is described as harmful is highly subjective for the individual. For example: whilst some people may find a certain political perspective or image harmful, others may find this to not be the case. By giving censorship control to the government, you let governments be the judge of this, even though judging this subjective opinion through a objective view is realistically impossible.

Another reason to not give governments increased censorship capabilities, is corruption. Whilst the amount of corruption in a country like the Netherlands may not seem high, giving complete media control to the government may have a increase in corruption as a result. Giving the government any control over the media that gets consumed by the public, gives them the capability to remove content that opposes the vision of the government. This way can result in a form of propaganda.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should not get control over what information is available on the internet. This control needs stay with the public and the coorporations that own the internet platforms. Instead of giving control to the government, there should be given more education, starting from a young age, about the internet and the potential harm of it. This way you reduce the amount of harmful content on the internet in a natural way.