You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Extinction of animals poses a great threat to the underlying ecosystem. Most species are approaching the verge of being extinct, and few are almost extinct. This essay discusses why this might be the case and how this problem can be alleviated.

The most prominent causes of this issue are related to multiple environmental factors. Most importantly, loss of habitat forces animals to migrate to another land; in this process, some of them are unable to adapt to changing conditions and die. The root cause of habitat loss is due to increased industrialization as a result of an increasing human population. Moreover, the drastic increase in the average carbon footprint, mainly from vehicles, has led to the rise in air pollutants and eventually acid rain, which alters the pH of shelters where they reside. In addition, water pollution from industrial wastage and disposal of toxins causes a very life-threatening phenomenon known as biomagnification, which refers to the multiplication of toxins as they accumulates up the food chain, causing the death of top consumers or predators.

To tackle this, urgent action must be taken by governments as well as individuals. Protection of natural habitats must be considered the top priority. States around the world should spend their resources to construct reserves such as bio-reserves and national parks. Car emissions can be minimized to deal with the air pollution situation by introducing taxation on cars and making public transport less costly. Waste being disposed into water bodies from factories can be terminated by enforcing laws that frequently monitor its production and establish penalties.

In conclusion, extinction of animal species has become a major problem due to environmental factors that are ignited by human interference. However, this threat can be eliminated if national establishments take immediate action by initiating essential laws and regulations.