You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that the internet contains a plethora of negative contents and they believe that government cenrsorship is the only way to make it safe. I agree with this notion and believe that government should monitor and control the harmful informations being shared on the internet. Although, it is also a person’s individual responsibility to filter out contents of the internet and share only useful information.

First of all, authorities should monitor the internet usage of its citizens and censor harmful contents because people tend to be unaware of their adverse effects. It is a government’s responsibility to control the amount of disturbing materials in social media websites. For example, some websites contain a huge amount of adult content advertisements which are inappropriate for children. Governments should legally censor these ads so as to prevent negative impacts on the young minds. Moreover, sharing contents on the internet that harm social rights of people should also be banned. These actions can make internet browsing a safe place for people.

Secondly, it is an individual’s responsibility as well to use the internet in a productive manner, rather than engaging in its negative aspects. Despite government’s control of harmful content on internet, the extent to which they can involve is limited. Due to this, imposing ban and censorship might not be enough to rule them out. So, people should be aware and use social media responsibly. For instance, a person who posts inciting content regarding a certain group on his social media might cause conflict between groups. These kind of activities should be avoided by individuals to make the internet safe for everyone.

To conclude, officials need to manage and censor the websites that impose risks to people in a negative way. However, this is not entirely possible to a personal level by the government, so people should be equally responsible to make browsing safe.