You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, people’s dressing and styling habits have started to be inspired by the many global fashion trends that are present on various media platforms. There are a plethora of reasons behind this strong influence, and I believe it is mostly a positive development.

The main reason that global fashion has become the current standard is because it has sparked creativity and provided inspiration across the borders. For instance, many people in America have started to wear dupattas, a crucial part of a woman’s attire in India. This has resulted in many intriguing amalgamations of cultures and their attributes. Another cause for the increase of impact of global styles on today’s generation is that it is often associated with famous celebrities and influencers who have large fan followings. People look at them and are immediately influenced into buying the same clothes and accessories which are being worn by their idols. For example, sales of an Hermes scarf grew by almost 80% after the famous actor, Shah Rukh Khan was seen wearing it on the streets.

This, overall, has proved to be a rather advantageous development in the society as it posits a great deal of benefits. A salient example of this is the empowerment and upliftment of small and local fashion designers who were earlier at the risk of vanishing from the competitive fashion market. Another positive impact is that global fashion trends have given a sense of belonging and identity to many individuals who used to struggle in finding the right outfits for themselves. Customers can now choose from a variety of items which has reduced the everyday stress of having to repeat certain attires. People can now inspire, teach and create their own pieces based on the popular trends which, in turn, has increased trade flows and profits amongst the countries.

In conclusion, there are various reasons behind the strong impact of global fashion trends on people, like cultural relevance and the influence of public figures. According to me, this development has proved to be extremely positive, both for the society and individuals.