You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In recent years, increasing attention has been paid to the role of education in an individuals development. While many people believe that prolonged summer vacations have several benefits for the students and their families, others argue that it is far beneficial to have smaller but frequent breaks during term time. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

On the one hand, extended school holidays of two or more months is essential for students to de-stress and socialise with their family. A significant number of pupils are stressed, exhausted and under constant pressure from the stenuous academic timetable through out the year. As a result, their mental and physical health is effected adversely. Consequently, longer holidays allow students to relax and enjoy other than worrying about exams. For example, these pupils can take part in summer camps or learn a new sport or music which help in development of their interpersonal skills and build their personality. Additionally, working parents can give time to their children by travelling on holidays together, which otherwise was not possible due to the busy lifestyle. Therefore, extended period of breaks not only improve mental and physical health of learners but also has a significant positive impact on personal relationships.

Conversely, a considerable number of individuals argue that shorter frequent breaks through out the academic year have several advantages. One main factor to consider is that students are prone to forget what they already learnt during the the long summer break. This would mean, teachers will have to spend valuable school hours to revise old curiculum instead of teaching newer information. Furthermore, working parents may find it difficult to supervise children at home due to work commitments. Subsequently, children spend large amount of time of on video gaming and online social media. This could be detrimental to their academic progress.

In conclusion, extended summer vacations enable youngsters to de-stress, spend quality time with their family, and improve their personal development. However, widespread shorter breaks ensure the academic performance of students is not effected and tackles the childcare challengefor parents.