You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, people’s dressing and styling habits have started to be inspired by the many global fashion trends that are present on various media platforms. There are numerous reasons behind this strong influence, and I believe it has a positive and also a negative development.

To begin with, I suppose these modes of trend might affect younger individuals more than the elderly, because young people are influenced by means of social media platforms, for example, Snapchat, TikTok and Instagram, as they want to be like their Favorite actor or singer. In terms of drawbacks, the majority of trends are not suitable for all body shapes and skin tones; moreover, blindly following recent dress direction, by ignoring lots of factors. As a result of this, the person will not look like his/her favorite artist due to the natural variety of human beings. And this results in insecurity and anxiety and also identity issues as they keep pushing themselves to look like other people.

In Contrast, adapting to new dress trends has multiple benefits such as, it keeping us updated with the changes in the look of our appearances. Everybody wants to look good, and for that reason, people try to wear something new that does not belong to their own culture and trends. Although our own culture has several beautiful dresses and we look good in them, people want to try something new to look different. And that also boosts people’s confidence.

In conclusion, despite the global fashion trend having some negative sides such as identity crises and anxiety. It also has lots of benefits such as looking good in a different way and also boosting our self-confidence.