Young people do not spend their holidays or weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in the natural environment. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go outside?

It is indeed becoming increasingly common for youngsters to be inactive instead of taking part in outdoor activities, including hiking and climbing. While there could be a variety of reasons why this is the case, in my view, parents and governments can implement some measures to encourage these youngsters to escape from a sedentary lifestyle.

There are two obvious reasons why most young people are becoming inactive day by day. One of them would be the advancements in technology and the internet. This means that access to the internet is unlimited for everyone, and the cost is also affordable, so most children prefer to be involved in online games and other entertaining websites that take too much time from these children. Another reason is that there are not adequate sports facilities in most rural parts of the world. The reason is that those who live in the countryside cannot hit the gyms or participate in sports clubs due to the lack of sports centers and the high attendance fees that these places require from young people.

Nevertheless, some steps can be taken to solve this huge problem. First and foremost, parents should control their children’s phones and restrict the use of the internet, which can help these youngsters avoid addictions to the virtual world and be more active and healthy by taking part in sports exercises. In addition, governments should construct a huge number of sports amenities and make them accessible to every resident, especially youngsters with poor backgrounds. This is because those who live in villages and underprivileged children can easily hit the gym and live longer instead of staying at home and addicted to the internet. Hence, parental control and some government investments can address this issue in a short period of time.

In conclusion, although there might be some causes for the current dominance of indoors, I still believe that this problem can be solved by taking the above-mentioned measures.