⸻ In recent years, more and more people and organisations are using digital technology for contact with other people. Do you think this has been a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, digital technology is used to connect people with each other more and more. From my opinion, I believe that this has been a positive development, and this essay will present various reasons.

On the one hand, the first reason I think this has been a positive is that people are so busy worrying about their life that they don’t have time to meet the other people and share their immediate stories. And digital technology has been very helpful in this regard, allowing people to communicate with each other anytime, anywhere, enabling them to instantly share funny and sad stories without any waiting. The second reason is that, thanks to digital technology, people can stay in touch with each other even when travel is restricted. For example, COVID-19, the whole country implemented self-isolation, but thanks to modern technology, people were still follow the health of their family and the development of the disease.

One the other hand, even though digital technology has provided a great deal of benefits, however, there are some negative development. Firstly, people can become dependent on social media, meaning they are extroverted on their phones but introverted in real life. Secondly, digital technology has the potential to be addictive because entertainment apps; people can spend hours glued to these devices, forgetting about time and important tasks.

In conclusion, digital technology has been provided both benefits and damages. I believe that the positives outweigh the negatives.