2. People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In recent years, there has been an increasing consumption of sugar-based drinks among people. In this essay, I will elaborate key factors that contribute to this trend and then provide viable suggestions for reducing such an addiction.

Several reasons demonstrate why the excessive consumption of sugar-based drinks has been increasingly proliferating. Foremost among these is the lack of awareness of younger generations, particularly at a school-going age. According to psychologists, most children are typically prone to experience impulsive and naive behaviors, making them easily vulnerable to fraud and exploitation from shady schemes. Marketing campaigns, for instance, have long been effective in commercializing their drinking products to targets such as students. This is due to the fact that students are often caught attention to these ranges of energy drinks because high sugar content makes these drinks more palatable. As a result, the more consumption they get, the worse health conditions they will be affected over time, such as respiratory problems and obesity.

Nevertheless, there are various suggestions that governments and the public can implement to alleviate such a warning phenomenon. Firstly, governments should launch public awareness about the potential risk of soft drinks that can take a toll on oneself’s well-being such as obesity to residents, especially for children. In certain societies, particularly in China, thanks to the supportive campaigns of calling for the reduction of these types of drinks, has successfully helped large numbers of children escape from the heightened risk of health problems. Additionally, authorities can also ban or limit sugary drinks advertisements, especially those targeting children on social media platforms. By applying this initiative, coupled with the emphasis of benefits that healthy beverage drinks bring, potentially fostering a myriad of consumers rarely put their trust in energy drinks.

In conclusion, while loads of motivations force individuals to consume highly-sugary drinks, governments can implement numerous fighting-addiction drinking strategies to further enhance the public’s overall well-being.