2. People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Nowadays, the consumption of sugar-based drinks is increasing rapidly all over the world and this has led to many people’s concerns. This essay will analyze the main causes of this trend and propose some feasible measures to limit this problem.

Let’s start with the reasons why people drink a lot of sugar-based drinks. The first reason is the attractive marketing strategy of beverage companies such as brands like Coca-Cola or Pepsi, they spend a lot on advertising, sponsoring sports and music events to build a product image associated with success, youthfulness and happiness. The second reason is that compared to water, sugar-based drinks have a more impressive flavor, so it easier to attract consumers, especially children. The third reason is the lack of knowledge about the long-term consequences of consumers, obviously many people are not fully aware that excessive sugar consumption will lead to many diseases such as obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease.

Next is the solutions to reduce sugar-based drinks consumption. The first solution is to organizing nutrition seminars or showing television commercials warning of the harmful effects of excessive sugar consumption to popularize knowledge to consumers. The second solution is to encourage alternative products, support companies that produce natural juices, mineral water, unsweetened herbal teas and place these products in visible locations in supermarkets, because the taste of these drinks is also more impressive than regular filtered water while being much healthier than sugar-based drinks. The third solution is to limit advertising of sugar-based drinks, especially not advertising during the time when children watch TV, because compared to adults, children have less resistance to temptation.

In conclusion, the rise in sugary drink consumption is driven by strong advertising, appealing flavours and ignorance, so solutions such as public education, providing alternatives and advertising controls are needed to limit this problem.