A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

A government’s obligatory duty is to protect the counties independece and sovereignty. Whereas, investing in social benefit is secondary task. Although both are important for the general development of a society.

To defend the borders and uphold the sovereignty of a country, its goverment cannot help investing on its millitary. To standardize and modernize defense forces a government must spend a least amount of the budget. It is the holy duty of the government. But social developments are not ignorable. To enhance the quality of life of the citizens, government must spend on technology, health care, education, transportation and so on. Without developing the infrastructures, a country will eventually loose its momentum and lag behind from the developed counties.So, a government has to spend on both defence and social developments. But a massive research should be held to determine what portion of the budget will be reserved for defence.

As long as the defence force of a country is able to maintain its borders and safeguard their nation. The government should not increase its investment on millitary equipments. Rather, the government should maintain good relations with the neighboring countries and focus on mutual interests. After spending on millitary needs, the government should spend as much as it can for social development. This way the country will be able to achieve sustainable development goals and eventually become one of the most peaceful countries of the world.