A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many countries depend on tourism as major supply for money in their economy. Throughout this essay I will explore the advantage and disadvantage of this industry and express my opinion on this matter. Firstly, I will discuss the positives of tourism and secondly, I will share the negatives as well.

There is no doubt that in modern world various countries consider tourism industry the backbone for their economy. Tourism can enhance and rise the standard of living in any country as it helps touristic countries to gain their needs from foreign currencies which will be used later for trade, agriculture, industry and many other activities. As tourists visit the historical places and the sightseeing in any city, they will spend a lot of money in purchasing gifts and shopping. Travel industry also play a vital role in solving the problem of unemployment. Citizens in touristic counties work in a lot of professions that has direct relation with the tourism industry such as tour guides, gift shops, transportation and hotels.

On the other side depending on the tourism can have negative effects on the income of any nation because it is unstable industry that is affected by many factors like terrorism, war and diseases such as Covid which can lead to complete stoppage of this source of income. Another important factor that cannot be neglected is its impact on the environment. As many travelers use airplanes which use fossil fuels and exhausts are generated which have negative effect on the environment and leads to global warming.

In conclusion, it is obvious that like many other industries tourism has many pros and cons. In my View tourism has many benefits more than its drawbacks and the governments should put a plan to eliminate the negative effect of this industry and maximize its positives.