Above is a size comparison between Pulau Pinang (Penang Island) and Pulau Sibu. Write a cause-and-effect essay about mass tourism on a small island - Pulau Sibu. The essay must be written between 200 – 250 words. You can agree or disagree on whether mass tourism will benefit the people on the island. Your thesis statement must begin with the sentence below – Developing mass tourism on a small island (is beneficial/ is not beneficial) * to the people living on Pulau Sibu because…

Mass tourism refers to the movement of many organized tourists to holiday destinations for recreational purposes. There are many places in Malaysia that are visited by tourist, and some of these locations can develop mass tourism to gain more benefit for their country. Developing mass tourism on a small island is beneficial to the people living on Pulau Sibu because of economic growth and cultural exchange.

Firstly, economic growth is a major benefit that affect of developing mass tourism on a small island for the people living there. Tourism can growth the local economy through visitor spending. For instance, tourists will spend in various sectors such as hospitality, transportation, and retail, which can benefit the people on that small island. Hence, it is proven that developing mass tourism can provide benefits to the small island.

Secondly, cultural exchange refer to the process of sharing and exchanging culture with individuals from different backgrounds. To illustrate, when tourists visit the island, people in Pulau Sibu will have the opportunity to introduce the local culture and language, and learn about their unique traditions, customs, and way of life. In addition, this exchange of cultures will make tourism know more about that island and allow for a deeper understanding and appreciation of different perspectives respect and creating meaningful connections between visitors and locals.

To recap, economic growth and cultural exchange are two benefits of developing mass tourism for the people living in Pulau Sibu. First, it can help people on that island to easier search for job opportunities and help their economic growth. It also can make them learn about other different perspectives.