Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that water is considered the most significant source of human’s survival, and should be available for anyone who lives on this planet. Hence, it is supposed that people ought to be provided by water without any financial requirements. While, some people claim that this is a good idea, since some individuals living in rural places or poorer nations are not able to afford paying for it, I tend to disagree with this notion more, as it will lead to the irrational consumption and contribute to the water scarcity on a larger scale.

It is common knowledge that there exist many countries where people do not obtain enough money to pay the bills for the water usage. Therefore, it has been suggested that allowing water supply that is free of charge is likely to benefit residents living there. This will not only help people to get the access for the water supply, but probably be a humble gesture which will affect millions of lives in the long-run. For instance, this issue is quiet common in some developing countries like India, Pakistan, Africa, to name, but a few, where thousands die annually, all because of the absence of enough water supply. Hence it is important to consider these unfair cases and try to minimize them by providing free water availability, which later results in the savings of human lives and be morally right to all people living on the planet.

Having said that, I am more inclined to disapprove of this statement due to the possible irrational consumption of it as well as the financial matters it can cause for the water supply processes. In other words, a huge number of people worldwide use water not for the right purposes, or more precisely, do not value it at all. This is especially common in everyday life situations when people do not think about the detrimental consequences of leaving the water running in the bathrooms and kitchens. That is why, letting individuals to use water for free will probably contribute to even worse and more unreasonable actions, as it will lose its value by becoming available for anyone in unlimited amount. In addition, this change is likely to bring some financial challenges for the water extraction practices, as the money given by people for the utilization of water usually goes to the water sourcing and treatment. However, without proper financial support, it may be become more difficult to get the access for the water supply, which later leads to even more water shortage problems especially when the population is rising at a dynamic pace.

It is said that the access for the water supply should be the available for everyone without any charge, as it is the basic right of anyone. It can be concluded that, I disagree with this notion due to the fact that, it might contribute to the funding hurdles for the water supply processes as well as cause more severe water shortage issues in the long-run.