Access to clean water is a basic human right.Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge

Potable water is an indispensable part of human life and it is undeniable that accessing a clean water supply is a basic human right. Some argue that water supply should be provided without any fee. This essay will discuss this issue and present my opinion to strongly disagree with this statement.

Firstly, supplying clean water for free can become a financial burden for the local economy especially in developing countries. This can lead to a national budget deficit, making it hard to address other issues of a country such as natural disasters or organising community assistance projects. Furthermore, without a monetary stream from water users, water utility companies might struggle to maintain high standards of water quality and infrastructure upkeep. This could pose significant public health risks especially in densely populated urban areas.

In addition, when a resource is received as free, there is a natural tendency for people to undervalue water resources and use it without restraint. Consequently, this could lead to overconsumption and wastage, exacerbating global issues relevant to clean water scarcity. For example, the region which suffers from severe drought, if they are provided free water supply, they are predisposed to utilize it to meet their demands that threaten long- term environmental stability. Moreover, making clean water freely available for all households is sometimes unnecessary. Rich families can become richer while the low- income families are forced to pay for using this fundamental human right. As a result, poor people are burdened by the cost of clean water provision. Some households choose to not use clean water in order to spend money on others basic needs. Rather than offering free water for affluent families, the Government should adopt policy to support the expense for low- income groups. An efficient approach is to levy potable water provision fees for solely wealthy households and bring this subsidy to poor households.

In conclusion, while it is undeniable that potable water is a basic human right, I strongly believe that it should be provided with a charge to restrain water usage in order to avoid resource deficit and raise community’s awareness about how to use water efficiently and responsibly. The Government play an essential role in balancing the cost between the rich and the poor, ensuring every one have equal opportunity to access clean water.