Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

While access to clean water is undeniably a basic human right, the idea that every household should receive free water is controversial. I agree that everyone should be able to receive water completely free of charge, believing in a balanced approach with government responsibility and affordability.

On the one hand, every human relies on water as it is a vital resource that should be accessible to everyone. Thus, the absence of clean water in many developing countries is one of the most frequent causes of death For example, the ability to have clean water can seriously improve this situation by reducing the number of deaths caused by absence of clean water. Also, this decision can allow households to save money and make investments that were previously spent on utility bills. Initiative like this indeed can have positive outcome on demography of certain countries and health of household finances.

On the other hand, water supply does not rely only on pure biological needs. Such practices as making water free of charge to everyone would cause significant ecological and economical consequences. For instance, a lot of companies that provide utilities already rely on government funds. Thus, making the water universally free would create a huge government budget hole. Moreover, free water can have another negative outcome, such as irresponsible water usage, that can accumulate into drain of water resources of the planet.

In conclusion, while free water access can theoretically cause permanent damage to the social institutions and ecology, with balanced approach its benefits can outweigh the negative impact.