Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether governments should provide fresh water with no cost, as it is one of the human rights, or not. I firmly disagree with this notion, as not only do people take it for granted in this plan, but it also reduces clean water quality.

First, it is evident that if clean water be accessible freely, individuals will not consider it as an important resource. In this situation, people will use it for other purposes instead of drinking, such as filling pools and irrigating gardens, might resulting water scarcity in the long term. To illustrate, in Iran, water price is very low. As a result, the residents have used it for washing cars and gardening. Consequantly, water become scarce in some city in recent years, like Isfahan.

Second, private companies might increase the quality of water because there is a sence of competition to have a higher market share amoung the companies. If compaines could provide every house drinking water, we would have mush more healthier water. It mainly because corporations might try to improve their water quality, making them healthier. For instance, there is many companies that sell the bottle of water. People buy and use them in the gym. They usualy sweat a lot so that they need more drinking water. In doing so, they drink much healthier water, may preventing diseases, like the kidney stones.

In conclusion, I strongly maintain that providing free water for everyone is not a good plan, as people will not use it wisly. Morever, companies will encourage to improve the quality of water if they can sell water.