Advantages and disadvantages of sport be an essential part of school life for children

The statement about sport ought to be a fundamental portion of school life for children is has become a controversial topic in the school curriculum

Looking at the benefits, though, one major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit and their minds would eventually suffer. Secondly, it seems that school sports emphasize the importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent preparation for adulthood. Lastly, it would seem that a competitive spirit, so important today, is fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people excelled in sport at school.

Moving to the drawbacks, in light of the evidence that sport uses up time that could be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. Firstly, it seems to me that it is unwise to force children to do activities that they have no interest in. Additionally, some youngsters are just not sporty, and should be allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at present. From previous research, this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people.

In summary, it is reasonable to conclude that making sports compulsory for school children can have a positive impact on their mental and physical development. However, it is essential to recognize that some children may not have a passion for sports and deserve the option to prioritize their studies.