Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, commercials have become a widespread feature of the modern world, and they encourage individuals to buy new products constantly. I believe that this situation may lead to dangerous over-consumption in society, and it brings devastating effects on both individuals’ mental health and the environment.

First of all, most of the individuals are exposed to a vast number of commercials on social media platforms and traditional media, and this situation pushes people to buy something which they do not actually need. For instance, companies use clever psychological methods and create immense peer pressure especially on young people by establishing new trends among teenagers. Therefore, individuals spend more money than they can afford, and this lifestyle eventually leads to serious financial insecurity and depression.

Secondly, over-consumption habits caused by aggressive advertisements have a devastating impact on the environment. Industries have to constantly produce new products to meet the increasing public demand. Therefore, this non-stop production process results in severe air and water pollution, while also causing the rapid depletion of natural resources. In addition, despite modern recycling facilities, people buy trendy products and throw away their old items, which causes a huge waste problem in big cities.

To sum up, even though advertisements have a huge role around the world, their negative impacts cannot be denied. I believe that this over-consumption encouraged by commercials has numerous detrimental effects on individuals’ mental health and the environment. Considering these serious facts, governments should introduce some preventative regulations to limit advertisement activities.