Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that in our everyday life, there is a growing prevalence of advertisements. Despite some advantages that this development may confer, I believe that it is still a net negative due to the far more pronounced disadvantages.

On the one hand, the omnipresence of advertising can inform a wider pool of options for customers. As a result, this diversity of choices makes it easier for them to find suitable products in terms of both price and quality. Nevertheless, the overabundance of advertisements can have the opposite effect. Because the investment in both low and high quality products is often the same, consumers may struggle to distinguish between them, leading to confusion and potential dissatisfaction.On the other hand, the ubiquity of advertising can also cause some negative influences. This is because when advertising encourages excessive consumption, it directly stimulates mass production and transportation which instantly affects our environment. For instance, the fast fashion industry immediately persuades people to buy clothes they do not truly need, producing a huge amount of discarded clothing and causing overflowing landfills. Furthermore, the widespread presence of advertisements leans people toward a materialistic lifestyle by portraying happiness tied to constant shopping. It can make them overlook the spiritual and emotional values which are essential for long-term happiness.

In conclusion, while the prevalence of advertising provides consumers with numerous options, its negative effects on the environment and core value of life should not be underestimated. Therefore, I am convinced that the demerits of this development outweigh its merits.