Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is ti positive or negative development?

Given the rapid development of the media industry facilitated by technological innovations, advertising has pervaded every aspect of our society. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that this is indeed an encouraging development.

On the one hand, it is true that the growing popularity of advertising could engender some ballooning issues. First and foremost, it could be the culprit which causes disturbances. Advertisements are now appearing with an increasing frequency, featured on multiple media, ranging from TV to social network sites such as Facebook or Youtube. This would intermittently interrupt viewer’s from absorbing the actual content, adversely affecting watching their experience, be it for education or entertainment purposes. In addition to this, the ubiquity of advertising could result in the bombardment of fake news. It is widely acknowledged that in order to gain more traction, manufacturers often exaggerate about the benefits of their products. Such deceptive advertising could mislead customers into buying low-quality goods, which would consequently deprive them of money and time.

On the other hand, there exists a host of reasons as to why I am convinced that the demerits of omnipresence of advertising pale in comparison with its enormous benefits. One key rationale is that it could greatly benefit manufacturers. No matter how high-quality the products or services are, they would easily become unknown in the current competitive market without proper marketing. Therefore, only when targeted customers are routinely exposed to the ads of their products could companies enhance brand awareness and generate profit. Another justification is that the increasing popularity of advertising could also act as a precursor for the invigorating national economy. This argument could be further clarified by the fact that if businesses are able to thrive with the aid of advertising, they would make a large contribution to the tax revenue. As a result, this would significantly boost the economic sector, allowing the government to invest in other fields of society such as education or healthcare services.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that there are certain drawbacks regarding the prevalence of advertising, I would contend that its profound upside could negate the mentioned downside.