Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is ti positive or negative development?

By increasing the usage of internet and social media, many advertisements are showed in our page that is tailored based on our preferences. This phenomenon is more familiar since social media could also as e-commerce. In my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of that phenomenon. In this essay, I will elucidate why the negative effects are dominated.

The more advertisements are appeared, people will more stimulate to purchase products. This will be a bad habit, make people become impulsive buying. People tend to purchase as long as the price is low, the more discount offers the more people are interested to spend their money. For instance, at the moment of ied fitri or christmas people tend to be more consumptive since the discount is bombastic.

Furthermore, people who don’t have intention to buy are distracted by the promotion in social media from the official advertisements to endorsements. Many influencers who have numerous followers promote some products. It makes followers eager to buy the same products due to the review of their idol. Besides, nowadays the social media is also embedded with the ecommerce such as tik tok with tik tok shop. This impacts people can’t control which stuff should be bought or which stuff shouldn’t.

Those habit was very different with people in the past. People were more mindful, they bought and consumed what they needs. The limitation of technologies, internets, and gadgets become their boundaries. Nowadays, mindful consumption is still found in indigenous people who lived remotely. They eat what they planted, use what nature has produced, that is a sustainable way. If people are more consumptive, they will be more greedy and impacted more natural resources need to be exploited.

In conclusion, advertisements are ubiquitous in many platforms, including in the social media, ads is become familiar on the page. However, In my opinion, this trend brings the negative impacts, many people become unwise in buying. It is so different with the past and habit of indigenous people who more untouchable by technology.