Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is ti positive or negative development?

It is widely witnessed that advertising is playing an important role in our daily routine. While I accept that this development has some positive impacts on our lives, I believe that it has more negative impacts compared to positive ones.

On the one hand, the spreading of the advertising offers tremendous advantages that contribute to companies and customers. To begin with, advertising is the best way to get the companies’ images and the products closer to customers. Establishing a business, investing a huge amount capital into it, updating the marvelous technologies will result in making a great product, but without advertising, such a progress may become meaningless. Furthermore, if there is no advertising, it will be impossible to tell the buyer what the main value of a product is. From the customers perspective, advertising offers unparalleled convenience. People can easily look up what they need, compare the prices, and eventually put to cart the items that meet their demand, all of this assume the esistence of the advertising.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I hold the belief that the negative impacts of this trend on privacy issues and consumer behaviors are far more significant than the positive ones. Regarding the privacy issues, this development means that the private data is more and more facing a risk of leaking or collecting. It is not simply that your name, age, email, phone numbers,… is revealed to another, but it also involve bank account. This can lead to a situation in which one person become a miserable victim. Another drawbacks of this trend can be seen in consumer behaviors. It is massively unpleasant to see a pop-up advertising appearing when you are watching something on monitor, in this sense, advertising and disturbing is synonymous. In addition, advertising can become an awful deceit, when the seller magnifies the product’s value that is not a truth. Better late than never, the buyer tends to be a sceptic who no longer believe anything.

In conclusion, advertising can bring certain benefits for companies and customers, but unfortunately, these positive effects are nullified by the detrimental impacts that such a development can have on our privacy and behavior.