Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destination. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

The growth of air traffic has led to increases in both noise and air pollution, as well as airport construction. Some people argue that it should be taxed by government more heavily to reduce air traffic. Although, air travel contributes to air pollution, without it there will be geographical barriers between countries.

To begin with, imposing higher taxes on air travel can effectively reduce the number of unnecessary flights. It would be more profitable for people to use trains or buses instead of planes, when tickets become more expensive, especially when it comes to short-distance flies. For example, in many countries of Europe, high aviation taxes have encouraged passengers to switch to rail transport, which produces far fewer carbon emissions.

On the other hand, despite the fact that planes throw away several tones of carbon dioxide per hour, without planes it would be more challenging to travel long distances. Higher ticket prices make travelling less accessible, as a result, the economies of countries that depend on tourism will incur financial losses. Additionally, when it comes to travel over thousands of kilometers, there is no type of transport that can replace the plane, as it is the fastest way to travel across the world. For example, the flight from Japan to the US takes 12 hours, while it would take days or even weeks to cover the same distance by land or by water.

In conclusion, although air traffic has some disadvantages, it does not matter that it should be heavily taxed, so I fully disagree with this point of view, as the economies of states and the exchange of traditions through traveling do matter.