All university students should participate in voluntary activities to support their local communities. To what degree do you support or oppose this idea?

For ages, how young adults, mainly undergraduates, should contribute to society has been a subject of much debate. Some necessitate their engagement in voluntary campaigns. This essay will elaborate on my stance that university goers should be wholeheartedly encouraged to partake in such schemes, not only for the betterment of indigenous communities but also for their personal development.

To begin with, encouraging university goers to engage in voluntary campaigns could bring substantial benefits to communities. With their innate enthusiasm, energy and talents, university students could become dedicated contributors to society. They could become invaluable allies for underprivileged children, the elderly or even the disabled, for example. This commitment not only helps spread the culture of social responsibility within youth communities, but also inspires the younger to follow their example, thereby nurturing good citizens for the future society.

Partaking in voluntary activities offers university students a multitude of promising benefits. Such campaigns could be early internships for them, especially for freshmen. By participating in voluntary activities, students would have an opportunity to apply their academic knowledge in real-life situations, thereby gaining practical experience for their future jobs. For example, first-year students could work for nonprofit organisations, such as free educational institutions. Those centers could give leverage to freshmen before working as paid tutors, as there would be opportunities to attend classes as teachers for inexperienced people with guidance. Besides, prosocial behaviors also help to foster students’ soft skills. For instance, to succeed in a fundraising project, individuals would need to work and contact multiple stakeholders, which requires collaboration and good negotiation skills.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the culture of prosocial activities should be widespread within the university student community, as such schemes benefit both local communities and undergraduates in many aspects, namely devoted contribution to society with youthfulness, inspiration for next generations, the cultivation of soft skills, and real-life experience.