Although many countries are becoming richer, these societies still have members who are poor and struggle each day to survive; why do you think this happens, and what can wealthy societies do to help their poorer citizens?

Despite the prosperity period in many developed countries, the number of people who can barely make ends meet there is still overwhelmingly high. In this essay I intend to touch upon the underlying reasons for such poverty and how it can be mitigated. I firmly believe that only with the implementation of required social programs for these citizens and the willingness to obtain them can this problem be fully solved.

First and foremost, let us consider the causes. It is undeniable that many people are reluctant to work due to their former failures to make a living. They may have been unfairly sacked previously or simply experienced some sort of misfortune and, therefore, they prefer their comfort zone over hard-earned wages. On the contrary, it is not always the case for other members of society. Some are literally unable to work because of the physical disability. They could have been involved in accidents or even were born with innate health issues. Hence, they are the ones craving this money the most as they can not fulfill their financial needs on their own.

Furthermore, in addition to the allocation of funds to those in need, another key component to take into account is the build-up of the workforce. Employers have to create workplaces even for people who come from lower echelons of the society. Regardless of the degree or social status, everyone has the right to work and be paid for it. Consequently, those who have failed to get into higher education or have lost their job have to be provided with an opportunity to earn wages.

In summary, I am deeply concerned that the problem of poverty is a paramount topic and can not be overlooked in today’s world. Actually, it has to be tackled in multiple ways. For instance, allowing each and every person to work by expanding the number of workplaces. Moreover, conventional methods such as social program for homeless or unemployed is still highly effective concerning this issue.