An array of individuals fall prey to various marketing gimmicks by brands and companies, leading them to buy items that are expensive and not needed. This essay will state the reasons for this behaviour and list a number of actions that can be taken to mitigate this challenge.

Firstly, many companies and brands worldwide spend a large amount of their capital to create marketing strategies and advertisements that lure the audience into buying. For example, engaging TVCs, eye catching billboards and much more. Moreover, many individuals are impulsive shoppers and companies use this buying behaviour to trick consumers into buying products on the spot. Lastly, due to good brand positioning, people idealise brands that fall under the luxury category. This idealisation leads people to buy things they cannot afford.

However, people can overcome this challenge by using simple methods that allows them to realise they do not need it. For instance, impulsive shoppers can reflect for a few minutes before a purchase is made, giving them time to contemplate. Another method is by creating a shopping list and standing by it. Additionally, customers can follow a 24 hour rule wherein, one takes a day to think whether he or she wants to buy it. Furthermore, they can set clear financial goals and adhere by it.

In conclusion, due to human behaviour many individuals get tricked by smart advertising and marketing skills of large organisations. However, setting priorities and having an awareness of a his or her needs, one can overcome this obstacle.