An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Cosmetic surgeries have been considered revolutionary procedures over the past decades, many rely on them to enhance their esthetic features and boost their self-esteem, While these types of operations are admired by a wide scale of people, there are still a number of shortcomings related to them. In this essay, we will discuss the positive as well as the negative impact which is relevant to cosmetic surgeries and also, clarify why I believe that the advantages of these procedures outweigh their disadvantages.

Evidently, There are a number of valuable reasons why many people choose to go under such procedures; firstly, many people are struggling with some unpopular esthetic feature of their faces or bodies, hence, they find plastic surgery a significant solution to their issues, as they do not only help them with their appearances, but also increase their self-confidence; in other words, they are a crucial key to acclaim social approval. In addition to this, they are an essential treatment for some diseases or accidents, such as massive burns or specific dermatological conditions. The positive impact of plastic surgeries cannot be denied.

On the other hand, some experts are warning about the obsession related to these procedures. Dr. John Camden, a psychology professor, claims that as these procedures become more popular and easy to reach, many people are becoming addicted to them, they can not stop after achieving a certain shape or appearance, in contrast, they tend to go under further surgeries to keep receiving compliments from their relatives or friends. It is developing into a crazy approach that a large scale of individuals -especially women- is adapting it as it adapts fashionable trends!

Personally, I believe that the solution to this issue is implementing some medical regulations as well as seeking professional approval before performing an operation. However, completely eliminating plastic surgeries can harm many who find physical and psychological treatments through it.

In conclusion, a balanced approach to cosmetic surgeries is required to avoid post-operative complications or addiction to them, and also, maximize the benefits of these procedures to society.