Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

The migration of people from the countryside to urban centers is catching an enormous pace nowadays, which is resulting in a decline in the population of rural areas. In my opinion, this change will only have more drawbacks in terms of overburdening urban places and the country’s low economic growth.

The principal negative aspect of such relocation can be attributed to cities and towns being overburdened. Due to migration, cities tend to become densely populated, which calls for the availability of more amenities to cater to the requirements of the rising population. This puts a lot of burden on the local council to ensure various facilities, such as housing and employment opportunities. As a consequence, the authorities would likely be overwhelmed with the responsibilities.

Besides leading to a rise in urban centers’ obligations, urbanization can also be associated with less growth in the economy. This is because the country’s rural areas focus chiefly on agricultural activities, and the shift to urban places would lead to a decline in these practices. As the country’s GDP is majorly determined by the contribution from the agriculture, industry, and service sectors, the decline in agro-based activities would certainly affect the country’s economic growth.

To recapitulate, the current trend of people shifting to urban locations is diminishing the rate of population across the countryside. This is undoubtedly a negative development as it not only puts a burden on urban centers but also leads to a reduction in the growth of the economy.