Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

The debate over the implications of the migration of people from rural to urban areas has sparked considerable controversy. While some argue this trend brings growth opportunities for rural people, I believe its negative impacts are of higher significance due to the reasons this essay further elaborates on.

One major drawback of this phenomenon is the exacerbation of cities’ air pollution. This is mainly because the more the urban population accumulates, the more personal vehicles will be driven. Consequently, there’d be a rise in toxic gas emissions, leading to the contamination of the air. Moreover, this surge in private automobiles exacerbates traffic magnitudes and frequencies, resulting in more noise pollution. Additionally, the crowdedness negatively affects the residents’ mental well-being and living standards. Iranian people, for instance, moved from suburbs to cities in 2001 to seek better job vacancies. However, the government reported heightened air contamination, coupled with noise pollution in cities, highlighting the devastating effects of this notion.

The repercussions of this migration extend beyond the exacerbated air quality and street congestions, and impact the countries’ food supplies. With fewer agriculturists in the countryside, crop yields would be reduced, ultimately jeopardizing individuals’ food security. In addition, this reduction brings about economic recession, as foodstuff trading is a reliable income for nations. As a result, their global status would be damaged. Take the USA for example; where many individuals from suburban areas moved to New York City and the country lost its monopoly on apple exportations within a year which had a detrimental impact on its economy. Hence, it is essential to prioritize adequate facilities for rural communities to prevent them from moving to urban areas in order to minimize the potential threats.

In conclusion, despite the few benefits this trend brings about, I firmly believe it is a highly negative development. In fact, it not only poses a significant threat to the quality of air and individuals’ mentality but also to the nation’s food supplies and economy; therefore, improving rural areas to deter this migration is a necessity.