Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that painting and drawing lessons are as significant for children’s development as other subjects, so it ought to be obligatory in secondary school. This essay agrees with this statement because art classes are connected with other subjects including math, science, and chemistry, and these lessons boost creativity.

Learning how to play a musical instrument can help students to solve complex mathematical problems. Because it is challenging to learn how to play a musical instrument, this challenges students’ brains, which leads to the fact that they would start to think differently about the math problem. As a result, they may even perform better at tasks than normal students who do not actively play an instrument. For example, research conducted in Uzbekistan shows that students who regularly play the piano were better at STEM subjects compared to their counterparts.

Another reason for adding mandatory art classes to the school curriculum is that it enhances creativity. Since in those art classes children have to draw many fancy things, they would have to imagine the drawing in their minds. Consequently, this improves child’s creativity. Survey conducted in Stanford University can be a notable example, which concluded that most of the leaders of big corporations actually did arts when they were younger.

To conclude, art lessons are as vital for child’s development as other subjects such as math, science, chemistry, and biology, so they should be added to the school schedule as compulsory subjects. It is recommended that these courses ought to be mandatory in high school.