Art classes, such as painting or drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s educational landscape, more weight has been given to subjects once perceived as secondary such as painting, drawing or music. This has led many to advocate for their mandatory inclusion in the official public school system, emphasizing these disciplines’ equal standing when compared with traditionally sought-after fields such as science or languages. Although acknowledging the significance of art classes, this essay disassociates with the idea of an obligatory syllabus with pre-chosen courses.

Proponents of art-related subjects often highlight their capacity to evoke creativity and nurture individuality in learners. Traditionally, classes on such disciplines liberate students from rigid theory and radical facts. Instead, instructors allow students to self-create, following the lead of only their imagination, personal stories and at times, a very subtle level of baseline guidance. With such freedom, learners, gifted or not, thrive naturally and treat these lessons as an opportunity to self-express and truly think out-of-the-box. Such qualities are increasingly valued amid an ever-competitive labor market, where distinctive, self-resourceful candidates stand out way better than ordinary ones.

However, mandating arts or any subjects as a compulsory part of the curriculum is also not ideal. Indeed, as every discipline embodies its own values and contributions, enforcing one over another would risk impeding a person’s true potential. Alternatively, should educators view curriculum building through a liberal arts lens, what should be put forward is a tailored pathway where students actively craft a personalized syllabus based on their personal strengths, weakness, future aspirations, and possibly interests. It is this leaner-centric method that can uplift individuals, propelling them to the heights they seek. This practice has proved effective in modern American high schools, where elective courses become an indispensable part of youth education, allowing students to better prepare for whatever career awaits them post-graduation.

In conclusion, given that arts can empower self-expression and creativity, it should be welcomed in a person’s learning path. However, to compel individuals to enroll in such classes might reduce education to fixed labels. Rather, a more relaxed curriculum where learners have the agency to choose should be considered for potential maximisation.