Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think this is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

There are some people who believe that local art pieces should be represented at museums and galleries instead of foreign ones. I partially agree with this idea.

To begin with, I think the main purpose of art is to connect people to each other and showing different types of art from all over the world could be a good opportunity for people to get to know other cultures. When people see different pieces of art from another cultures, they can relate themselves to others and they feel more connected to others. Not every person has chance to travel to abroad, therefore showing art pieces from different cultures could provide opportunity to local people to be familiar with others. Additionally, it is good for individuals to benefit from other cultures for having a different perspective for life. People from different countries can learn different lifestyles by looking and understanding the stories behind those art pieces since every country has different experiences and stories which they reflect to their art.

On the other hand, in terms of supporting local artists, local art works should be promoted to be shown in local museums and galleries. If government agencies or councils encourage local artwork, local artists could be more successful because they would not have to stress about whether their work are selected to be shown or not. Additionally, when people travel to different countries, they would like to see more local artwork as they are already familiar with their own cultures. Therefore, increasing the amount of the local art pieces that are presented in museums or galleries could attract more tourists to countries.

To sum up, although there are many people who think that local art pieces should only be shown, there could be disadvantages in terms of connecting people from different cultures. However, promoting local work and at the same time, showing foreign art at the local museums and galleries could be more beneficial for people.