Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think this is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

In today’s world, art is increasingly being neglected in favor of disciplines like science, technology, and business. This essay aims to illustrate my perspective that such a trend stems from job considerations and the elitist image of art, before suggesting some viable countermeasures.

I believe that two key factors contribute to the prioritization of science-related fields over the arts. Firstly, non-art areas offer more employment advantages in the current digital age. The world is now undergoing rapid digitization, which means that employees with digital literacy will gain an edge over those without such a background, thus standing a better chance of recruitment. In the engineering field, for instance, where computer software has now become a part of the working process, workers with the ability to use such programs are more valued than those unable to do so. In contrast, the arts cannot prepare people adequately for the present job landscape and so garner less and less attention. Another reason is the public perception of the art field as being exclusive for the independently wealthy and those patronized by the rich. This is because for many, the cost of art equipment—color palettes and paint brushes—and art education is prohibitive. As a result, they shift their focus to more economically suitable options like science and technology.

In response to the current situation, several approaches can be undertaken to foster more public interest in the arts. First and foremost, increasing public access to art is important. For example, the government can give more funding to public schools so that children can access art tools and learn from better-trained teachers with little financial burden. Moreover, the government should attach more material value to art to make this field more attractive for young people by, for instance, sponsoring potential artists and art competitions. However, the state should not be the only one to make efforts. Individuals and local organizations should also play a part by integrating art into communal activities and promoting the therapeutic values of art. Cities like Los Angeles have already adopted art as a way to connect people within a community, resulting in more people becoming interested in art.

In conclusion, I attribute the growing preference for such areas as science, technology, and business over the arts to employment considerations and the elitist reputation of art, which can be countered by improving public access to art, giving art more pragmatic benefits, and propagating the social and remedial effects of art.