As artificial intelligence becomes more integrated into daily life, some people predict the obsolescence of many traditional jobs. Others maintain that AI will primarily augment, not replace, human workers. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The rapid growth of artificial intelligence has divided public opinion. While some individuals argue that artificial intelligence will completely replace human labor, others believe that it will only be used as a supportive tool. In my view, although AI will automate many routine tasks, that it will only be used as an assistant for human workers.

To begin with, artificial intelligence is transforming the way we live and work, especially in the past three years. For instance, modern autonomous systems can operate completely without human intervention due to robotic process automation, which handles repetitive and routine tasks much faster than humans. As a result, AI job cuts are rising. A prime example of this is seen in tech conglomerates such as Amazon and Meta, where thousands of employees were laid off to cut costs using automated systems.

On the other hand, many people believe that technology’s role is more supportive than substitutive. Firstly, AI systems are designed to improve human skills, enhancing productivity and efficiency in various fields. Moreover, education can be significantly improved by tools through personalised curricula, which are customised to individual student experience. Furthermore, artificial intelligence and related advancements in healthcare are already playing a huge role in our lives, which are noticeable because of the widespread wearables and other AI-powered devices. A clear example of this are smartwatches. If a wearable device detects sudden heart-rate abnormality, it will instantly alert the user seek for medical help.

In conclusion, although some experts fear job displacement due to fast automation in tech giants, I think that technology will serve us as an assisting tool. Because of the integration of such technologies to work will only help specialists perform their tasks more accurately and gain a competitive advantage.