As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

Many developed countries are noticing a growth in decreased family sizes. This essay will discuss the reasons and the possible effects of it on the community.

With increased responsibilities and hectic schedules, many find it difficult to get into family commitments.

They are compelled to work overtime to support household expenses which leads to more duties that prevent them from focusing on a bigger family and juggling more than one job leaves no room for family time. For example, most of the nuclear families in the cities are comprised of working parents who struggle with nine to five jobs, overtime and so on, resulting in minimal time to focus on expanding their families.

Families make up the society that we live in. Therefore, less members in a family is likely to impact the community and it could be both positive and negative. The positive factor is the opportunity to equally disburse the resources of the nation. With limited members, the possibility of making education, food and medicine available to all will be high. However, this could also affect the labour force due to the decrease of youth in the population causing a drawback to the country’s economy. So, the progress towards having a limited number of persons in a family has its positive and adverse effects on the locality.

In conclusion, more people in progressing nations are choosing the nuclear family style due to workload and busy timings. This in turn impacts the society both positively and negatively in terms of equal distribution of resources and less youth in the workforce. People should learn to have a work life balance focusing on having more children and contribute to their native lands in a positive manner.