As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Nowadays, humanity benefits a lot from the spreading of languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin, as it has provided a possibility for people all over the world to communicate. However, there is a concern that due to ever-increasing popularity of such languages, the minority languages can be displaced. Therefore, governments of some countries take measures to protect native languages, and I firmly believe that it is a genuinely useful practice.

To begin with, I am going to explain why I consider maintenance of minority languages crucial for the modern world. No one would argue that language reflects the features of culture and even values of people who speak this language. Keeping native languages alive means respecting traditions and cultural features. Also, the loss of native language means the disappearance of a huge part of national heritage for the county.

Nevertheless, being a proponent of the point of view that it is important to take steps to protect minority languages, I think that the disappearance of some languages is an inevitable and natural process. For instance, there are languages that are spoken only by a dozen people, and their dying out can not be avoided. In such cases, governments should not be overly enthusiastic about maintenance of them. However, in all other cases it is worth trying to protect native languages.

To conclude, I want to emphasise that the importance of protecting minority languages can not be overestimated. I believe so, because the language is an inseparable part of the culture and history of the country or the area, and maintenance of it means appreciating national heritage.