As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Nowadays, due to globalization such popular languages as English, Spanish and Mandarin are becoming more popular. Many people are wary about that as it could lead to the death of more rare laтguages. Due to that some countries have taken course on saving minority languages. Which I think is a smart and forward-thinking decision which could help save unique culture and national heritage – the language.

As every nation has their own language or at least dialect it is something that unites that group of people. In the era of globalization it is very easy to lose part of culture when a person moves to a different city or country, so language is a thing that can be with a person no matter where he or she is. Therefore people will not lose this part of their national identity if it will be saved from dying out. It is very heart-warming when you meet someone in a different part of the world who speaks the same language.

Language also has another unique feature. It was developed during the whole history of the nation. There are fairy tales, novels and poems written in minority languages and translation can not be a solution. Some words can not have an analog in other languages and part of sense will be lost. Furthermore, a lot of literature critics say that when someone reads a book in its original, they can understand the author’s thoughts way better.

To conclude, it is very important to keep local languages alive because they contain a big part of identity and history of nationalities. It is a very depressing prediction that some languages can disappear so the government should continue these steps.