As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

Some languages have expansive usage areas among countries, which others might not be seen in the future. Some nations have begun to preserve these rare spoken languages to protect them from perishing.

It can be argued that a spoken language reflects the culture to which it belongs. It is affected by socio-cultural structures. If it needs an example, family interaction, holy words taken from religious beliefs, cuisine. Each of them is a key factor in shaping a language. These provide a strong bond between people. In addition, they set up a bridge between countries that have economic, cultural, and social interaction. Therefore, they have an impact on each other’s cultures.

On the other hand, each language has unique features. Each of them is a tiny stone of the mosaic. When they gather around a language, they show an exceptional artwork. Especially less-used languages may come from an ancient civilization. As an example, few people know how to speak Aztec and Mayan languages except some social scientists and ancient language researchers. Even people who are believed to have come from these civilizations. Therefore, these people may lose their identity because of forgetting their spoken language.

In conclusion, either the state or the people should be conservative about less common languages. If no precautions are taken, these languages will be forfeit with their diversity and secrets