As the world becomes increasingly globalized, some people feel that local cultures are being lost. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the planet is more connected and the borders are losing power. Consequently, there is a discussion about how the natives customs are going to face this issue. In fact, from my point of view, the local cultures are desappearing and the countries are losing their roots. To develop this argument, firstly I will provide general information about how this is happening. Secondly, I will provide examples about how this is occurring in my homeland Chile. Finally, I will conclude with some general ideas

At the moment, the world is highly connected: everyone has a smartphone and are engaged in social media. Thus, there are not isolated cultures, every person is always online, at everytime and at everyplace. Therefore, the people even in the most remot country on earth, are admiring famous from all over the world. In fact, the idols who they admire, are not from their vicinity, city or region. Regardless, they would like to be worldwide famous: Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo or even Shakira. This issue causes the lose of their sense of belonging, trying to be foreign people, losing their traditions and local identities.

To illustratte this, we could see the chilean reality. Even thow the country is trying to foster or promote the natives languages, we prefer to learn english instead of, for example, mapudungun, that is a national dyalect. Even in more superficial issues, like football, people are not supporting the chileans teams, they are following Real Madrid or Barcelona.

In conclusion, the national identities have been disappearing during the last century, and the people are losing their sense of belonging. Globalization has brought a lot of positives consequences, but has destroyed local customs.