Billions of dollars are being wasted on space research. The money used could be better used to improve conditions for people on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe it is better to improve the people’s living conditions than to spend large amounts of money on space research. I absolutely disagree with that claim, because space exploration is an essential and massive industry, positively contributing to our society.

First of all, research in an unknown field has already led to numerous new and crucial findings. Considering the fact that our planet is on the verge of a climate crisis and the average temperature on Earth increases every year, it is better if we rely on the alternatives that space provides. By this, I mean that we could find new sources of life, or even places to live with normal oxygen levels similar to Earth, as happened with NASA’s Kepler 22 discovery in the 21st century.

Second of all, researching this particular area is not a complete waste of money, but an investment. The market itself is very large, with its own factories, marketing campaigns, merchandise, and even a documentary film industry. It provides ordinary workers, like constructors and builders, with jobs, significantly lowering the unemployment rate. Therefore, the space exploration industry does not take the taxpayers’ money for nothing, but gives back major socioeconomic benefits.

In conclusion, this essay believes that we should continue spending money on space research, in order to not only survive but also to provide future generations and ourselves with new sources of income and living, all in a long-term view.