Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I personally agree with the statement because I believe that the government should be the first one to worry about how we treat the environment and to set a positive example for its citizens. The best ways to do that would be to invest in public transport, reduce the tickets prices and improve bike lanes.

The very first thing every city should do is to make better and more functional their public transport system. If people had buses, trams and metros that worked well they would take them more often. Instead, in my experience in some cities in Italy, it is not like that. Frequently the buses are old, uncomfortable and many times they do not pass by when they are supposed to. So people cannot rely on them and prefer to take the car to move around.

An additional problem is the price of the tickets for public transports. In many city it is too high for the service offered and many people can not affort to buy tickets for their everyday rides.

Another thing that would help reduce pollution made by transport is improving the bike lane systems. As for my esperience in Milan, you can’t bike around the city because it is too dangerous, there are too many cars, and there is no safe space to bike in the street. I believe many people would go to work or school with their own bike if they only had a safe cycle path

Climate change is not something that we can avoid, it is real and everyone needs to do their part in trying to make the situation better. Government should make it easy for people to travel around without having to use the car.