Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It is believed that there is an rapidly increasing number of car owners in the most recent thirty years which leads to traffic jam in many cities in around the world. As the society develops, this statements is becoming more accurate, this essay will devlve into the causes of this phenomenon and what can be done by the authorities to demotivate people from using their car.

One major factor that increases car ownership is the development of humanity. As time passes, more individuals have become wealthy enough to afford a car, resulting in more automobiles rolling on the roads. Therefore, many streets are occupied by those wide vehicles which cause congestion. Another reason is that some car models are recently released with relatively low prices that even averagely paid employees can purchase, this can give nearly everyone access to cars. For example, Vinfast brand has made a small type of car, it is so cheap that so many people in Viet Nam has bought that car and drive it on the venues.

Unfortunately, to tackle with such a problem is really difficult due to cars being one of the most popular transportation. However, governments can still do something such as investing more on public transport such as buses and underground trains. This can motivate people to use those public transportation and reduce vehicles on the road, which ultimately minimize the traffic jam. For instance, despite being crowded with tourists every summer, Singapore streets are almost empty due to metro trains being the best option to travel around.

In short, governments as well as individuals should take action to reduce traffic jam by minimizing the usage of cars. This would benefit the society a lot by mitigating car fumes and saving people’s time on roads.