Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Some argue that car ownership is so high nowadays that a significant number of cities across the globe experience constant traffic issues and transportation problems. In my view, this statement is true in many cases, although it is not a necessity for every major population centre.

On one hand, in metropolises such as Jakarta or Los Angeles, traffic jams are a daily phenomenon, being a part of each resident’s routine. However, from Amsterdam, for instance, we rarely hear about these issues, if at all. Not only does the largest Dutch city have a massive metropolitan area, but it is also intertwined with canals and pedestrian zones as well. Naturally, the question arises as to how this duality is possible.

I believe governments and city councils have a plethora of ways to deal with transportation problems, like in the case of Amsterdam. The main objective of efforts should be in all instances to discourage people from driving, making streets less congested. Multiple methods of achieving this exist, for example, building a network of safely usable bicycle lanes that even encourage a healthy lifestyle. Furthermore, another way could be the construction of a modern, technologically capable public transportation system. As one might find it obvious, expanding already existing tram and metro lines and building new ones can help to decrease traffic issues by providing alternatives to cars.

All things considered, while car ownership has a major impact on traffic and urban lifestyle as a whole, governments and other authorities are able to influence it as well, potentially solving arising issues.