Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Nowadays, car ownership has significantly risen over the past thirty years in several cities, causing traffic jams cases continuously. This situation is common for central countries that have many population and gap facilities for public transportation. The big solution can be solved by rules development from the local government.

Increasing car ownership trends that are centered in industrial cities usually have crowded public activities. To this day, not all countries have equal distribution of public transport, it is just found in several countries such as the capital city. For this reason, people were forced to buy private vehicles and use them for daily transportation. Besides that, car ownership tend to comfortably and safety feels than take in transport public, which are many case such us theft and sexual harassment have potential happens. Moreover, personal cars give a flexible trip for people without thinking about the schedule and space availability. They preference and existence of public transportation makes the people choices to have car owner and used it together that gives negatives impact for traffic jams

To solve these problems, the government has an important role to manage the system of owning personal vehicles, organizing and balancing transportation development for society. First of all, the government must make stricter rules for public transportation to enhance public convenience. For instance, creating gender-based setting areas, expanding transport access to various areas, and adjusting the population in their cities. Before those are implemented, the government should socialize use of public transportation. Second step to reduce excessive car ownership, the government can limit car ownership to the people who require purchase, which is linked to the salary people and the extreme rules is creating a policy to increase car ownership tax.

Personally, I think car ownership has increased over the past 30 years causing endless traffic jams due to unequal access and inconvenience of public transport. As a result, many people choose to have a car and use it in general. To reduce this impact, some policy from government are needed that linked with enhance utilize vehicle public and promoting it to society.