Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

In recent times, world is facing traffic jam due to an increase in car owners in last 30 years. However, that is not the only reason causing it. This essay will discuss about the causes and solutions government could offer to reduce traffic congestion problem.

Rise in car sales has become major cause to traffic jam in today’s world. This is to say, growing population demands better ways of living, and owning a car is considered one of the luxurious ways of living a life, though it is causing problem to everyone. Apart from that, improper rules and regulations, no traffic lights, and lack of proper infrastructures are other factors contributing to traffic congestion in many countries of the world. For example, in 2025 it was reported in “The Himalayan Times” that only 5% people in Nepal follows traffic rules because there are no working traffic lights. Thus, we can’t blame only one factor for causing the traffic problem.

One thing government can do to solve this problem is setting stricter rules and regulations on people owning cars. Saying that, people fear with the system, so government can fine or seize the license of them who does not follow it. Individuals who travel by public transport should be charged less fare or no fare at all. For instance, a 2022 study from “Cambridge University” led by the team of researchers invigilated by “Chris Toni”, showed that 90% of the Luxembourg’s population uses public transport due to zero cost, while other 10% use their own vehicle, also only during summer. Therefore, government can encourage citizens to use public transport more often by lowering the travel costs for them.

Overall, traffic congestion is a forever issue if government doesn’t contribute to solve it.