Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Nowadays, the overweight of children has been rising as the dangerous issue over the world. The main reasons are the popularity of junk food and the lack of activity of juveniles, for which solutions can be taken, such as the high taxes on unhealthy foods and the attending more sports centres.

According to causes, obesity, which is caused by high-calorie meals like fast food, is at the top of the list. The popularity of fast-food brands is increasing considerably year by year, especially among teenagers, bringing several problems to their well-being and appearance. Another essential aspect that leads to being overweight is low mobility and sports times per day. For example, according to Canadian research in 2015 on KFC fast foods, there were 1500 consumers every day in one branch, demonstrating a significant sales rate.

These issues can be tackled in several ways, like doubling taxes on junk food companies and opening more free-served sports schools. Concerning charges, the government could double them, and it is that fast-food companies would raise their prices, which would reduce the consumption rate. Moreover, the second measure is that intensified sports may help to diminish obesity and increase mobility by starting free lessons in every school after the lessons.

Overall, in the last decade, there have been high numbers of overweight children, which is a severe issue for parents. However, this can be solved with a rise in junk food and doing more activities throughout the day.