Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

The number of children suffering from obesity is rising dramatically, thereby creating a major dilemma in various nations. The main reason, which led to this situation, is widespread use of electronic gadgets. In order to solve this problem, parents should limit the screen time of their offspring.

At first sight, it is a little confusing: what is the relation between fatness and the internet? The answer is that electronic devices, such as mobile phones or laptops, attract the attention of children. Therefore, their activity and interest in the environment decreases, which leads to health issues. Moreover, due to the additional dose of dopamine that can be obtained through social media, the desire for food consumption increases more than after physical exercise. The Alpha generation, which has another name called “iPad kids”, can be a great example of children addicted to tablets. If they had a youtube video in front of them, these youngsters would not control the amount of food they ate.

The key to this trouble is to shorten the screen time of the kids. Of course, it needs to be done without any aggression, in a calm way. When children did not spend most of their time scrolling tik tok videos, they would investigate the surrounding world. For instance, communicating with their peers in the playground, doing some sports, or just physical activities like running and jumping. Additionally, kids could start giving an account of their actions rather than doing something like a hypnotized person.

In conclusion, childhood obesity, which is the issue on a global level, got viral because of the overuse of electronic devices; and one of the possible solutions is the restriction of internet access.