Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

An increase in early age obesity is a real danger to children’s health as recently many of them classified as overweight, I believe this phenomenon is caused by overconsumption of sugar, and to tackle this issue we can provide healthier snacks for children.

In regards to children’s obesity, the main cause of this problem is the overconsumption of snacks that contain sugar. Nowadays many snacks sold by convenience stores contain large quantities of sugar and sweetener agents. Moreover, with the increasing number of stores, snacks become easier to access for the children. As snacks are readily available, children’s sugar intake is becoming larger and uncontrolled. For example, bottled teas and cokes sold by the convenience store contain more sugar than one would need for the day. These snacks and drinks are loved by the children, but the excessive sugar amount that is not spent as energy will become fat. The fat then stored in children’s bodies leads to obesity.

The possible solution to solve this issue is by promoting healthy snacks for the children. Healthy snacks can replace the common snacks found in supermarkets. Fruit, for example, is one of the cheap alternatives to common sugary snacks. Fruit contains more nutrition that needed for growth and contains less sugar, which can replace sugary sweets. Healthy snacks also can be promoted in school by providing them for free, therefore, eliminating the need for children to buy snacks and reducing the risk of obesity.

In conclusion, the main cause of the children’s obesity problem is excessive amount of sugar intake from the snacks and bottled drinks. Furthermore, these snacks are readily available in stores for children to buy. In order to tackle this issue, providing substitution and promoting healthier snacks like fruits and less sugary sweets to reduce sugar consumption by parents and schools is encouraged.