Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measure should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

The surge of overweight in children in some countries these days has become a strain to the healthcare, excessive consumption of convenience foods and lack of exercise are the main causes of this issue and it can be reduced by introducing balanced diets and exercise to their daily routine.

To begin with, one of the major reason of childhood obesity is due to enormous intake of high calories foods and snacks. This is because of their parent’s busy schedules and as a result they find it difficult to prepare nutritional meals for their children. This makes to overly rely on unhealthy fast foods and snacks from restaurants such as pizza, sharwama and burgers. Secondly, these days schools are primarily concerned on the academic performance of students in their core subjects like English, math and chemistry rather than incorporating physical exercises learning curriculum. Research shows that 30% of children are physically inactive in school compared to the past.

To tackle this issue, parents need to replace the intake of unhealthy snacks with healthy meals and fruits that contains the six classes of foods. This will enable the kids to eat high quality meals that are rich and healthy for their bodies. Furthermore, these meals should be given to the children in a smaller portion as it will help to reduce overeating and facilitate weightloss. Additionally, schools should have session for physical and health education, where children will have the opportunity to play any game of their choice such as football, volleyball, basket ball and sprint. This will enable the students to burn calories while engaging in an intriguing social activity.

In conclusion, with the aid of parents and schools, childhood obesity can be mitigated by encouraging the children to participate actively in sports and eat healthy.